I’m a vegetarian/vegan. What adjustments can I make to my seder plate?

I’m a vegetarian/vegan. What adjustments can I make to my seder plate?
Answer By: 
Rabbi Victor S. Appell

The Passover seder plate traditionally features two items that are not vegetarian or vegan. The roasted shankbone represents the sacrifice brought to the Temple in Jerusalem in ancient days. Even though its use is symbolic and it is not eaten, many vegetarians may prefer not to prepare a roasted shankbone or to have one on their seder plate. A common substitution is a roasted beet. The red color of the beet is considered reminiscent of the Passover sacrifice.

Those who are vegan may wish to replace the roasted egg commonly found on the seder plate. In addition to representing new life and the new season, the roasted egg is a reminder of the special festival offering brought to the Temple. Some substitute a decorative wood egg or an egg-shaped shaker or other object. A small flower can be a reminder of renewal and the spring season.

A shankbone and an egg are just two of the symbolic foods found on a seder plate. Our Passover Checklist will help insure that you have everything you need for your seder.